Reminiscing…

017e14be224dded739a378795b8fe954d161e980de

 

I miss the beach. the feel of sand between my toes, the warmth of the sand, the warmth of the sun, the sound of the waves, the smell of the water, the sound of seagulls, searching for shells that I can use in crafts or display with my lighthouses, the way peanut butter and jelly sandwiches taste so much better after playing in the waves and soaking up some sun…

I miss having picnics at the lake, watching the kids play while the guys fish, taking off my shoes, rolling up my jeans and sitting in my folding chair at the edge of the water squishing the wet soil between my toes, the smell of hot dogs and hamburgers on the grill, having to patch up the kids after at least one, if not all, fall down running and skin their knees and the palms of their little hands, their excitement when one of the guys catches a fish! The fellowship and conversation and we enjoy the scenery, the serenity and the friendship.

I miss going to the park to do my homework or read a book. Sitting on the grass, under a tree. The breeze through my hair. The sounds of the birds in the trees. Taking a moment to make a daisy chain from the tiny little flowers and putting it around my neck or in my hair. Pretending I was sitting under a tree in a huge yard of a plantation or ranch style home in the country, far away from the city.

I enjoy sitting outside in the backyard, with the breeze blowing my hair and creating musical sounds with the wind-chimes. It feels good to laugh as I watch the puppies chase each other, and even better when they chase butterflies. Their curiosity as the watch the birds fly overhead, and the way they tilt their heads to the side when the wild parrots fly over squawking to each other.

I miss the feel of being on a waterski, jumping the wake and the spray of the water on my face. The thrill of the challenge of not falling as I cut back and forth through the wake of the boat. I do NOT miss camping on the beach, sleeping on a folding lounger and waking to see the shade tarp covered in bugs. I do not miss hiking to a port-o-potty up on a random hill and blazing hot inside.

I still remember when I was swimming and my cousins poured their cereal out into the water and I did not know it was in my hair and I was leaving a trail as I swam along which I very large fish was following me eating the cereal! I remember clearly how it felt to turn around and see the fish almost face to face with me and how I could not run out of the water fast enough!!!

Leave a Reply

